Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sailfish woes.

Posted by BenitoSanduchi 
Sailfish woes.
October 19, 2012 10:59PM
Sailfish firmware for Makerbot printers is absolutely amazing. I upgraded a squeaky old neglected Thing-O-Matic to Sailfish yesterday and was absolutely blown away. I'm embarrassed by the print quality of my MendelMax and Prusa now. The layer precision coming off the TOM is so good and even at high speeds, yet it sounds like it's going to rattle apart when it's running. My MendelMax is a beautiful, quiet machine that can print very nicely and reliably. But that TOM just kills it now in the quality department. See attached squirrel, printed at .25mm at 90mm/sec on an MK7 TOM.

So here's my question: How did they do this? I am not a software developer or mechanical engineer, just a jack of all trades artist that stumbled into 3D printing last year. So I guess I just wonder how is it, on my mechanically superior printer, that there isn't a comparable software/firmware solution? Or is there in Marlin/Slic3r and I just don't have it tuned well enough? Or is Skeinforge, slow as it is, just that much better?

I find with each Slic3r version that my prints get worse and worse and none of the tuning I've done in Marlin makes a significant difference. Am I alone here?

Hats off and many thanks to everyone sharing their hard work and moving this community forward.
Attachments:
open | download - squirrel.jpg (178.5 KB)
Re: Sailfish woes.
October 21, 2012 03:00PM
Well... Slic3r has been getting worse with each release.

Version 0.9.1 -> Pressing the delete STL button crasheres Slic3r or your computer

Version 0.9.2 -> Does not lift nozzel for first layer, instead letting it drag through your print bed

Version 0.9.3 -> Hexagon infill overlaps perimeters making ugly prints.

I used to love slic3r and have donated a few times now. But now... I am very disappointed.

I have reverted to 0.9.1 and avoid clicking the delete STL button.