Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder - suggestion

Posted by 3eality 
Extruder - suggestion
October 27, 2012 06:22AM
RepRappers,

I am currently trying to get my prints from Bowden type of extruder that I got along with the kit (3dstuffmaker). I am spending hours and hours but in no form or shape I am getting a consistant PLA flow; I want to try another type of extruder.

so do you thing Wade type is better than bowden? Or do you suggest any other extruder?
Where should i look for if I want to get one?

Please note I am very new to 3D printing and have not yet printed one good print confused smiley

Thanks in advance for any suggestion/opinions/views

Regards,
Dinesh
Re: Extruder - suggestion
November 11, 2012 09:35AM
I'm quite new to this but I had the same problem. After days of fun I found out it was the hobbed bolt.

But for you it could be the hobbed bolt, not enough tension on the springs or even the filament. I've had a couple of hobbed bolts now and the quality has been quite bad on a lot of them. I'd have a look at those before getting another extruder.
November 11, 2012 10:07AM
bowden is interesting. if you tighten down enough to grip the feedstock you risk deforming it so it does not move thru cable. .then if you use a larger cable than 3mm you risk swelling outside of extruder and having back flow issues, which when the extruder cools down it no longer works without changing the cable.

i would say try different feedstock. some feedstock crumbles when a hobbled bolt is used.

i almost think there should be separate hobbled bolts for pla and for abs. abs works great with deep tooth bolts, pla does not it tears apart, at least the cheap stuff does. a good size for hobbled bolts is 4 to 6mm threads, and 1-1.5 mm deep into a bolt. you want as much grip surface area as to put enough pressure to grip the feedstock, yet not so much to change the feedstock shape.