Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What grease for linear bearings?

Posted by tmorris9 
What grease for linear bearings?
November 02, 2012 10:20PM
Wondering what the best grease is to use on linear bearings?
Re: What grease for linear bearings?
November 03, 2012 05:37AM
Slippery ones!

In all seriousness, any old grease should do. I know a guy who uses WD-40 to grease his, and another that uses some sort of machining wax. I personally use tapping lubricant.
November 03, 2012 07:06AM
Wd40 isnt a grease its a oil, and will dry out, a good pfte grease will do.. I make bearings for a living and wouldnt dare to use wd4O
November 03, 2012 08:07AM
wd40 from what i have read has fine particles in it that cause wear.
November 03, 2012 08:15AM
WD40 (water displacement) is not actually intended to be a lubricant. It is notorious for drying into a horrific black gooey mess that ruins everything.

My first choice would be Mobil Vactra 2. Beyond that, a generic white lithium grease will also do a good job and is available in tubes and spray cans pretty much anywhere. Pretty much anything designed for lubrication will be fine, this isn't a demanding application.

Nothing is worse than an oil that attracts dirt and dust.
November 03, 2012 10:04AM
I use 3-in-1 general purpose oil for my Prusa2 linear bearings and z threaded rods. I keep it away from printed plastic parts since it probably will degrade the plastic since it's carbon-based. This doesn't seem to be too hard to do. On my Mendel, I was more carefull and I uses sicone oil, but they're not as easy to find.
November 03, 2012 03:46PM
I had some wheel bearing grease left over from fixing my car and used that, my Mendel was running 9 hours a day for about a year and even now there are no signs of any problems

November 04, 2012 09:24PM
9 hours a day ! are u printing money or something? (we have plastic notes in Australia)
November 04, 2012 10:52PM