Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Banding in prints...???

Posted by magicald 
Banding in prints...???
November 20, 2012 06:38PM
Can someone please give me advice or ideas of other things to try. I have banding in my prints that repeats every 7-8 layers. I have the following setup:
Prusa V2
now with 1/4-16 leadscrews (didn't help the problem at all!!)
MG extruder and hotend
Ramps 1.4 - ultimachine
Latest Repetier fW
T2.5 belts
3mm PLA - Ultimachine

I just completely isolated my Z axis with the Z-isolators off thingiverse...didn't make a difference...

I just increased the voltage on my Z axis stepper driver to 0.6V from 0.4V...didn't make a difference...

The banding does go all the way around the print, so still looks like a Z-axis problem??? Please Help, I've been printing for 4 months and have everything figured out except this!!

Pic attached:
Re: Banding in prints...???
November 20, 2012 06:41PM
Forgot to add, my lead screws are attached to steppers with flexible tubing...previously had flexible Aluminum ones...also didn't help
November 20, 2012 06:44PM
Sorry, keep forgetting important info:

1. Not a slicing problem - tried three versions of Slic3r back to 0.72b, Sfact, and SF50

2. 0.35 nozzle, 0.3mm layer height

3. tried slowing everything down...doesn't help

4. Z-motors are set to stay on all the time in FW

Any help/ideas greatly appreciated!
November 20, 2012 08:40PM
magicald - have the same problem - don't know how to fix it - will be interested to see what the pros say
roger

Prusa 'Explorer' (3dStuffMaker), GEN6, J-head Mk III-B, Bowden Extruder, Marlin 1.0.0 RC2, Repitier-Host V0.84 and Slic3r 0.9.8, PLA. Live at Victoria, Australia.
November 20, 2012 09:17PM
Are your motors bolted down? If they are remove the screws and let them float in the mounts.

When you hold the print up to the screw does the pattern match the threads?

How straight are your 1/4-16 acme rods?

- akhlut

Just remember - Iterate, Iterate, Iterate!