Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help a newcomer decide on a printer

Posted by Thorsteenster 
Help a newcomer decide on a printer
November 25, 2012 11:49AM
Hello all!
I've kept an eye on 3D printing for the last few years since I saw the release of the Z-Corp desktop model, and the progression of truly affordable 3D printers, primarily Makerbot.
I think I've decided with my tax returns this year to purchase a 3D printer, but not entirely sure which model to buy.
I am new to this technology, but not computers in general as I'm in IT.

I've narrowed it down (I believe) to three models in my price range, $1k - $1.5k
MBot Cube
RapMan 3.2
Rostock MAX

Firstly, I'm looking for the biggest build size in my price range.
Secondly, ease of setup/use & maintenence for a 3D initiate.
I am mechanically inclined however, and don't mind a little extra work, but nothing overly complex, or need to be in the know of the industry.

Primary use for this will be for making RC car parts in 1:10, 1:20, and 1:24 scale. Mostly making plugs and bucks for molding and thermalforming for small production, as well a few one off parts. Essentially hobby use, I'm not looking to start a buisiness or recoup costs of equipment, just have fun, make some neat parts, and maybe make a little extra money.

There were several others I've looked at but didn't like something or other about them, but here is my thoughts on what I have listed.

MBot Cube, from my understanding is a copy of MB Replicator but with bigger build space. I like the option of going to a dual head later if I need to.

RapMan 3.2, I like the design on this honestly, and the build size. As well dual head option here also. I really like the Airwolf design, but build space is to small for me to consider.