Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Molten Glass

Posted by Trevarthan 
Molten Glass
December 21, 2012 12:28PM
Has anyone tried to print using molten glass as a material?

Hi, I'm new to reprap. I'm a software developer, and I've been seeing reprap around the net for years, but I only recently became interested in parts fabrication. I'll be building a prusa next month. I've done a lot of research. ABS, PLA, PVA, Polycarbonate, Frostruder, Polymer clays, glass powder techniques, etc. I'll of course be using plastic for my first reprap.

However, my girlfriend and I do a fair bit of lampwork. I have a couple of stores, but this one will probably amuse this crowd the most (it's the one I enjoy most too): [www.etsy.com]

For those of you unfamiliar with lampwork (as I was until about a year ago), it starts with a torch. I started with a cheap MAP gas torch, but I now have a couple of nice propane/oxygen torches. Glass is a bit of an insulator, so you grab these thin (think, pencil diameter) glass rods in your bare hand and you slowly heat up one end. Once it is molten, you can do whatever you want with it. Traditional lampwork is mostly about bead making. In recent years, many artists have gotten into glass pipe making for the underground marijuana smoking market. The possibilities are endless. These days, "glass blowing" and "lampwork" cross over so much that the line between the two disciplines is mostly a question of scale and equipment. For example, most glass pipes are "blown" using a torch, but many people still "blow" cups and lamps etc etc using larger glass blowing furnaces. Ok, if that sounds interesting, watch some YouTube videos.

Back to reprap. Has anyone considered using molten glass as a material for the additive process? It's certainly more expensive than plastic, but I'm certain it would be an ideal material in many cases. For example, food containers, chemical containers, jewelry, science, art, etc.