Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to 3d printing - which MendelMax

Posted by DoktrMike 
New to 3d printing - which MendelMax
February 09, 2013 09:17AM
Hi everyone,

I'm totally new to 3d printing, though have experience with electronics and the Arduino. I'm planning on building my own printer trying to keep the cost down to a reasonable extent. I'm pretty sure that I want to build a MendelMax; I like the aesthetic and it seems like it's worth the extra money over a standard Prusa.

The thing is, I see that there's a Beta version of the MendelMax 2.0 right now, and I'm not sure whether it's wise for me, as a 3d printing newb, to try it out.

Any chance some folks experienced with the MendelMax 1.5 and 2.0 could give me a sense of whether it's worth going for the newest version that's in beta, or whether I should just play it safe and go for the better known 1.5?

Many thanks in advance,
Mike
Re: New to 3d printing - which MendelMax
February 09, 2013 07:17PM
I am building a 1.5 version now. I do like the rigidity and ease of setup on the frame and rods.
February 09, 2013 08:13PM
Build the one that is well proved, then use that to make the parts for your next one. smiling smiley

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Richmond, New Zealand
Thingiverse ~ YouTube
February 09, 2013 11:36PM
Wired1 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Build the one that is well proved, then use that
> to make the parts for your next one. smiling smiley

What ^^^^^ he said.

That is what I did. Get one running without a lot of fuss then build another.
February 10, 2013 07:08AM