Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to 3d printing. Buying a kit.

Posted by Jakecheramie 
New to 3d printing. Buying a kit.
February 10, 2013 02:35PM
Hello, I am new to 3d printing and messed up buying parts on eBay but luckily got a refund for all of it. I am going to buy this kit from mixshop [www.mixshop.com]

I was wondering if that and these two items on were all i needed to build it. Other part:

[www.ebay.com]

Also I am wondering if I should get the 3mm filament or 1.75 mm kit

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 02/10/2013 11:39PM by Jakecheramie.
Re: New to 3d printing. Buying a kit.
February 10, 2013 06:47PM
Hi Jake, I see a redundancy if you are going to buy all three of these links.

The Mixshop link indicates that it comes with 1x Wade's Geared Extruder, this is the part that prints out plastic.

The first ebay link shows that it includes Greg's extruder printed parts, which is another geared extruder very similar to Wade's extruder.

The 2nd ebay link is for a "complete" wade's geared extruder.

So, if you buy all three links, you'll end up with 3 extruders! In addition, the 2nd ebay link claims a complete wades extruder kit, but did not mention of including 608zz bearings, springs, and other bits. Take a look here at a complete Wades hardware kit

Here is what I think you should do, contact Mixshop to see if the kit includes a full extruder kit with all parts including plastic extruder parts. If yes, than buy the first ebay link and use it's Greg's extruder plastic parts as a backup or sell it. If Mixshop does not include the plastic parts for Wade's extruder, you can easily use Wade's hardware parts in Greg's extruder as they share very similar hardware (im not sure on this, you should research/double check).