Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3DStuffmaker Prusa Gen6 controller - worth getting bootloader or better to replace it?

Posted by TooManyToys 
Hi all,

Another Aussie here who recently purchased one of the 3DStuffmaker Prusas from their Christmas promo.
Decided on this one because I was under the impression it would be shipped fairly quickly from Sydney (and it was well priced)....
Well, I got one out of two there.

Fun to build, but so far I'm undewhelmed with print quality.

Could I please get some opinions/advice from anyone here who has "been here and done that" to get this little beastie printing well?
Something that will help me plan my next moves.

Assembling and adjusting this little kit was no drama. I've many years professional experience as an engineer working on computer systems and electro-mechanical peripherals such as large laser printers, band printers (that's going back a way), and large format printers/plotters that needed to be calibrated within a nothingth of a millimeter.

What I've found from the printer as it is, assembled, adjusted, calibrations and some fine tuning done, is the print quality is very inconsistent.

Chopping and changing between the Pronterface /slic3r 0.7.1 that came with the printer and the latest Repetier/Skeinforge, I've managed to get a couple reasonable prints out of it, some of the first being replacement extruder gears, because I've already had one little acrylic drive gear break (very grateful to 3DStuffmaker for included spares). But the rest of the prints....

A large extruder gear I downloaded from Thingiverse printed with Repetier/Skeinforge came out near to perfect.
The small drive gear's I've tried have been whole other story. They come out looking like something designed by Salvadore Dali!

I've spent many evenings tuning slic3r & skeinforge, learning their settings, adjusting M-codes for the extruder steps, slowing prints down to 5mm/sec, you name it! Nothing seems to give me any consistency.