Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Noobs: Original Replication RFQ here:

Posted by Hoya 
Noobs: Original Replication RFQ here:
March 24, 2013 12:01PM
Hello my fellow reprapers. I am an experienced hobbyist who has heard about 3d printing and now learned about reprap. I like many noobs ready to take the next step, want to know 3 things:
1. What may be the best model for a 1st printer?
And
2. Where do I get it? I.E.:Who would like to print it for me?
And
3. For how much?

Thanks for all the support. I'm looking forward to creating new and exciting things together! Hoya
Re: Noobs: Original Replication RFQ here:
March 24, 2013 01:54PM
That first question is hard, since you will get different answers from most. To suggest a printer we will need more info. How big are the prints you want to make? How experiences mechanically are you? How good are you at solving hardware and software issues? How much are you willing to spend?
March 24, 2013 03:34PM
Yes lotw much agreed we need a lot more info to make an educated recommendation. It sounds like he may of just got bitten by the bug and hasn't really thought about what he wants specifically and what his needs are. We would definitely need a budget and what you want to print on your bot as well as software and mechanical experience. Here I attached a picture of a reprap I'm building that the goal was to build the best not for the least amount of money to donate locally. I've only spent 15$ so far but I also have extensive collections of parts and mechanical know how as well as lots of years building repraps. With no information I would recommend looking into Printrbots. They are a good starting point for many people. If you are looking to just get started and your on a budget that's the way to go I believe. My Printrbot is the printed version and highly modified. They also make a Printrbot Jr. Good luck and with more info we can make a better recommendation and welcome to the forum.