Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Confirming my construction, did I do this right?

Posted by Ohmarinus 
Confirming my construction, did I do this right?
March 30, 2013 02:29PM
Hi everyone, I have finally put my RepRap Air 2 XL together.

I am totally new to 3D printing, the machine works, extruding works etc, but the endstops don't.
Also I am starting to doubt I might have put my X-axis the wrong way around, or doesn't it matter?

I have highlighted the placements of my endstops (orange) and X-axis stepper motor (green) in the attached picture.
Can it be that the X-axis stepper motor should be on the other side?

Can anyone tell if I did this correctly? And can it be possible I need to turn around polarity for the endstop switches? It is a switch with three pins, I have connected the two wires to the outermost pins of each switch and connected it to the outermost pins on each endstop connector.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 03/30/2013 02:30PM by Ohmarinus.
Attachments:
open | download - photo-1.JPG (375.5 KB)
Re: Confirming my construction, did I do this right?
March 30, 2013 02:58PM
If you type "M119" into the input field under the text output of Pronterface, you can check your end stop status.
Try sending this without any of the end stops engaged first. Output should be "open" for all three axes (you will get a min. and a max. output for each axis).
Now try pressing one of the end stop switches and type in M119 again (while keeping the switch pressed).
If something has changed about the end stop status - it should read "triggered" now, you know that it is working.
In case nothing changes in the output, your firmware might be configured incorrectly.

Which firmware are you using, by the way?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/30/2013 02:59PM by uGen.
March 30, 2013 03:13PM
That is a very good question. The seller is very unclear about answering my questions.