Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

which printer?

Posted by nickw 
which printer?
April 04, 2013 12:36AM
Hello everyone,

For roughly the last 7 years I have been completely facinated by the idea of 3d printing, but very quick searches turned up machines that were obviously for industry in the >$10 k range. Until a friend of mine told me about reprap a few weeks ago.
What a brilliant comunity of people!

I am really interested in getting a 3d printer, but i just dont know where to put my investment. I am a student of ME, so i am not affraid to assemble the mechanical parts of the machine, but have almost zero knowledge about electronics/coding. I am completely willing to learn, but at the same time, do not want hundreds of dollars worth of hardware/software that I can't figure out how to use. What is the learning curve here?

I will be getting an FDM machine soon, but need some expert advice. Should I build a printer (the 2 I'm considering are the printrbot LC and the mendel) or just buy a functioning makerbot/cube printer?
I like the idea of building and maintaning these amazing machines, but I feel like the more mainstream companies offer a product that is more reliable. Is this true? or just their marketing hype?
I realize this is not a perfect technology, but I still don't want to feel like I am spending more time fixing the machine than using it, and I'm willing to shell out a little extra money for this.
Re: which printer?
April 04, 2013 01:15AM
[makemendel.com]

Its a pretty good price and they ship fast. (I got mine 4 days after payment cleared) The only downside is their customer service sucks, it could partly be due to the language barrier.

If you get this printer you will want to do some upgrades right from the start.

First get a PCB heated print bed, a piece of glass, and some binder clips. The heated print bed that the printer comes with only gets up to about 45c so its not hot enough to keep ABS from warping.