Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Update on the E3D All Metal Hotend (Now finally shipping!) smileys with beer [Lots of pictures]

Posted by SanjayM 
Re: Update on the E3D All Metal Hotend (Now finally shipping!) smileys with beer [Lots of pictures]
September 25, 2013 07:29AM
Hi millerii,

I am not an expert and I guess there could be many reasons but I got a similar problem with my extruder at some point and it turned to be the bolts which tensions the spring getting sort of jammed.
Let me try to explain: for the spring to do its job properly the hinge has to move smoothly. In my case the threads of the bolt holding the spring were rubbing on the holes and created some resistance. The result was that sometimes the filament would get eaten down because the hinge was not able to move back. Does this make any sense? Anyway you can just check that your hinge can move back an forth without any resistance (apart from the spring of course).

Just my 2 cents :-)

Cheers,

Franck
Re: Update on the E3D All Metal Hotend (Now finally shipping!) smileys with beer [Lots of pictures]
September 26, 2013 12:58AM
Thanks for quick reply.

I check hinge, it wasn't so tight but I still loosen it little and try print. Jammed pretty much same place than day before yesterday.
I extrude some filament by turning gear with hands and noticed that springs give up occasionally and at that time filament skip/eat by one tooth. Maybe when it does that for every tooth, bolt is eventually full of plastic and wont be able to feed anymore and just spin.

I change springs to some anti-vibration rubber so it can't move much back so it gives better pressure against filament.
I don't wanna celebrate too early but at least yesterday it works after rubbers.

I remember read that sprigs should be really tight but didn't know how tight it is.
September 26, 2013 06:42AM