Is this a good business idea?
April 15, 2013 11:29AM
So I graduated with a degree in Computer Games Design nearly 4 years ago now and my job prospects are as grim as ever.
Due to my degree, I have pretty good 3D modelling skills using 3DS Max and so I am toying with the idea of buying a 3D printer so that I can make and sell 3D artwork.
I'm not yet exactly sure what I'm going to make, but I was thinking of something along the lines of figures and interesting 3D designs and anything that people will think looks cool and will want to buy.
I'm thinking of building my own website and selling them on there.
Is this a silly idea? Would it be more trouble than it's worth? Is it a worthwhile business venture?

Also I'm thinking of buying the Ultimaker.

Thanks.
Re: Is this a good business idea?
April 15, 2013 11:36AM
You're probably not the only one trying this model, but as entry costs are low, I think it's worth a try. You're aware of Thingiverse?

Generation 7 Electronics Teacup Firmware RepRap DIY

April 15, 2013 11:44AM
yeah I'm aware of thingiverse.
I suppose the people I would be selling my work to wouldn't be people who have a 3d printer.
One concern I have is can Ultimaker make good enough models to sell, and also the fact that the cost of 3d printing will come down considerably and become too mainstream for this idea to become profitable anymore, due to over saturation of the market.
April 15, 2013 01:39PM
My 2cents worth:

I personally think it will be quite a while before 3 printers are mainstream. I don't think the issue isn't so much with being able to make a printer which almost anyone one setup/install/print to. Some of these already exist. Nophead's Mendel90 is a kit which it appears anyone with IKEA assembly knowledge could put together (based on blog posts I've read), and of course the Ultimakers, Makerbots, UP!s, etc of the world offer pre-built machines which can be plugged straight in and print.