Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First Printer Build: Prusa, Mendel, or Rostock

Posted by The_OG_Hamburgler 
First Printer Build: Prusa, Mendel, or Rostock
April 17, 2013 07:26PM
Hi all; a friend and I are about to join the fascinating Reprap community by building our first very own 3d printers! But of course, we've run into the all-too-stated dilemma: which printer to start with? We are currently considering derivatives of the Mendel, Prusa, and Rostock. We are looking for a printer with a lot of support, upgrade able, state-of-the art, and of course relatively cheap and easy to make. We do have a hackerspace nearby, so machining some aluminum parts might be possible, but I've never done anything like that before..

Here are the models we are considering:

Mendel: We're looking at the MendelMax or Mendel90. The later model seems to be recommended most as a first build at the moment.

Prusa: I hear everyone complaining about the threaded rods.. but they certainly are popular. We're looking at the i3.

Rostock: sexy delta printing!! Seriously though, the reduced weight of the moving parts must make a difference. I dont think they have quite the support that Prusa or Mendel has, but Reprap wiki has a good write up and I dont hear about flaws too often (might just be because a lack of information though). Looking at the Kossel, Rostock, or Rostock Max.

Did I miss any? Also, my friend and I will be building two identical printers, so hopefully that will make troubleshooting with each other much easier.
Thanks for the help!

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 04/17/2013 07:35PM by The_OG_Hamburgler.
Re: First Printer Build: Prusa, Mendel, or Rostock
April 17, 2013 07:30PM
I'd pick something others can help you with to start with, I'd be tempted by the Mendel90, though there is nothing wrong with the MendelMax.