Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Problem Connecting to Printrboard(New User)

Posted by new to3Dbob 
Problem Connecting to Printrboard(New User)
April 18, 2013 09:19AM
First I should say that I am totally new to 3D printers and this is my first attempt.

I finally finished building my Rapidbot 3 printer but unfortunately I'm not able to connect to it. The printer is using the printrboard REV D with the Marlin Firmware and LUFA CDC Boot Loader.

I first tried just plugging it in and letting windows find the drivers.

Then I followed the instructions from [www.ftdichip.com]

Finally I tried to install serial_install from PRJC.com

Everything I attempt produces the same results, the USB serial device says it has no drivers installed. See attached picture.

Is it possible that my board is bad? I have been searching and trying different things for days. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance,

Bob
Attachments:
open | download - serialprotproblem.jpg (44 KB)
Re: Problem Connecting to Printrboard(New User)
April 18, 2013 11:37AM
What kind of the USB to Serial cable are you using?

It looks like RapidBot comes with an FTDI cable.

The drivers for it are found here

http://makemendel.com/support-1/downloads

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/18/2013 11:39AM by ShadowRam.
April 18, 2013 12:14PM
Thank you very much. I am using the cable provided with the machine. I downloaded pronterface from the link you provided but I did not get the drivers from there. I will try those drivers tonight.
April 18, 2013 05:31PM
Hello,
I tried to install the driver mentioned and get the attached error. Has anyone ever come across this? Thanks for the help so far.

Bob
Attachments:
open | download - Serial Error.jpg (54.1 KB)
April 19, 2013 12:42AM
Try putting windows into test mode so if the driver isn't signed windows will still accept it.

[www.mydigitallife.info]

windows 8 can be done without that program.