Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Whens RepRap likely to take off?

Posted by Pseudoscience 
Whens RepRap likely to take off?
May 26, 2007 03:51PM
Hi, Im a newbie here and to RP as well, i think this project is something quite special or at least could be if given enough support and progress but it seems the project has been in the works for a few years now so im wondering when you lot reckon its likely to really take off?

I've not read up on everything yet but am i right in thinking these machines currently take ages to make even small objects?

If so is this just early design problems or some limitation to the heating and cooling of the plastics?
Re: Whens RepRap likely to take off?
May 26, 2007 04:35PM
It will take off once we achieve self-replication - the 1.0 release.
Until we have machines making machines making machines, the project doesn't seem important to most people. When we have 1-2-4-8...2^N of them out there, people will start to care, and every engineering student or hardware geek who wants one will build one.

--------

Regarding taking ages to make even small objects, our depostion rate is roughly ~7 cc / hr (.4 inch^3 /hour). I think we've improved that figure, but we haven't doubled it. The extruder has to force thick gooey plastic through a small orifice, doubling or quadrupling the pressure doesn't double or quadrupling the amount extruded, but it does burn out the motor or pop the extrusion nozzle off. There are inherent limitations to a plastic-extruding mechanism, I think, especially one built with some plastic components.

We've talked about a larger-orifice bulk extrusion head, but no one has mucked around with that yet.
Anonymous User
May 26, 2007 06:03PM