Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

CNC Miller/Router and 3D Printer

Posted by Nate_Bro 
CNC Miller/Router and 3D Printer
May 25, 2013 12:55PM
This is my first time here so I'm not sure if this is the right location for the topic. smiling bouncing smiley

I have always wanted to build a CNC router/milling machine, and also a 3D printer, and now I have decided to get started.

I have been doing a lot of reading and I think RepRap is my choice, and should fit my needs. I already have a table frame built, its 6'x3', so I will have good sized area to work with.

I had three computers hard drives crash on me the last storm we had so I'm working on getting those fixed so I'll be able to render some 3D models of what I'm thinking about.

what I'm wanting to have once I'm done is a working 3D printer, CNC router/Miller, and also a laser cutter.

I'm working on learning more about cutting lasers, but I'm just needing a low power laser to cut paper templates, plastic air brush stencils, and such, looks like I'll be going with a laser diode, and not a CO2 type laser.

I would also like to add a gas cutting torch, but thats later on and I'm not going to deal with that right now.

Is there already a well documented project that has a machine thats both a CNC router, and a 3D printer? I have done a few searches, but I have not come up with something that I can use as a starting point.

Thanks!
Re: CNC Miller/Router and 3D Printer
May 25, 2013 01:00PM
ShapeOko
May 25, 2013 01:57PM
thanks, I forgot about that project!

is anyone using reprap as a printer and router?

also I noticed a lot of people are using mostly the Arduino Mega, for a motor controller with the shield, is this the only option, or can it is possible to build my own arduino uno with all the parts on a single PCB, without having to rewrite the whole library?
May 25, 2013 02:03PM