Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

3D printers on Kickstarter

Posted by Ardor 
3D printers on Kickstarter
May 30, 2013 09:18PM
Hey everyone. I'm new to 3d printing. I've been modeling for a while and like the idea of being able to print out my own stuff. I've been researching and reading as much as I can. I'm good with my hands, tools and building things so a kit doesn't scare me. I've learned a bit but I'm sure I still have a ways to go.

A printer has shown up on Kickstarter that caught my eye. It looks real pretty but unlike most of the other printers that I've seen. It's also pretty cheap compaired to all the other printers I've seen, $397!

The Buccaneer

The thing I don't like about it is that the software is cloud based. There is some grumbling in the comments section about it being a fake like Makibox. I was keeping an eye on Makibox but honestly I haven't checked his site in a while

I was just wondering if someone with a little more experience could take a look at the page and tell me what they think. My first instinct is to stay away...

This one looks a little more legit to me but I still feel a little unsure.

The Kossel Pro
Re: 3D printers on Kickstarter
May 30, 2013 09:55PM
I think you should get a printer that actually exists and is shipping to customers today, rather than some questionable product that *might* ship in a year if they hit all their dates (and nobody on kickstarter hits their dates).

Here are a couple excellent reprap-based vendors to choose from (google for their websites):
Lulzbot
Makers Tool Works
May 31, 2013 01:23AM
They announce it as being a corexy system, pictures show an H-bot (one belt instead of 2). As noted in the website, raking forces are a big problem in H-bot, not in corexy.
They announce stamped steel parts, there is no stamped part shown in the pic, and with what is pictured it does not even make sense to use stamped parts here, laser cuts will be cheaper and fine.