Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Automatically clearing the bed and starting the next print (Videos+Instructions) - Fully automated production! cool smiley

Posted by SanjayM 
So when visiting the huge CNC shop where they build my hotends I saw an awesome auto-feed lathe that you load up with bar stock, it turns a workpiece, parts it off whereupon it falls into a little chute, and it then pops out the back of the lathe into a little basket for collection. The guy running the machine shop says he just fills the machine, presses "go" and goes home for the night! Well, I had massive engineering jealously right there. If he could do it, then why not me on my little RepRap?!

Another motivation was that as well as running E3D with David I am also a full time teacher of Engineering at a high school. I want to teach the kids about gearing and so on, so I want to print literally hundreds of these gears: [www.thingiverse.com] But unloading and resetting prints is a real chore.

In simple summary here is how I did it:

Use PLA on hot glass - the parts come completely loose from the bed once it cools.
Print an item
Cool the bed (parts come loose once cool)
Use a little ram attached to the X-Carriage to push the part off the bed into a chute
Print next item
Repeat forever.

Here are some video detailing the process:

(Warning - I talk a lot...)

Hardware overview
[www.youtube.com]

End of print procedure
[www.youtube.com]

Ejection of print and starting of next print
[www.youtube.com]

Another print ejection
[www.youtube.com]

I have left the GCODE files used and the associated slicer config on my work PC and can't retrieve them. However it really is very - using slic3r I have a normal start GCODE that homes the machine and sets the machine to printing temps and waits for those temps to be reached.

I set my custom end gcode to something like:

M104 S0 ; Set extruder temp to 0C
M140 S0 ; Set bed temp to 0C