Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Convert SCAD to Solidworks?

Posted by tomas02 
Convert SCAD to Solidworks?
June 22, 2013 12:03AM
Hi,
I'm new to 3d printing (still waiting on parts to arrive to build my prusa i3)
I'm experienced with Soidworks and prefer to use that over openscad as it makes sense to me.
Is there any easy way to get dimensions from a scad file as I'd like to redraw some parts into solidworks so I can modify them comfortably.
But STL's import terribly into solidworks as they are a mesh not a solid.
Any one have any advice?
Thanks Tomas
Re: Convert SCAD to Solidworks?
June 22, 2013 12:18AM
Hi Tomas,

The fact is OpenSCAD is really an odd beast that is incompatible with mainstream CAD software. The reason is mainly the choice of no real geometric kernel to speak of but CGAL and OpenCSG software libraries for geometric computation and screen rendering. OpenSCAD does not export to standard CAD formats like STEP or IGES.

One possible way would be to use the open source software FreeCAD. Since v0.13 it has an OpenSCAD module that allows it to import OpenSCAD files in .scad or .csg formats. It is still experimental though, and some OpenSCAD features are not supported so results will vary depending on the file. I've had some files open perfectly, others open with some geometry errors, and then some that failed to load.

OpenSCAD needs to be installed for the module to work in FreeCAD.

Once the OpenSCAD file is loaded in FreeCAD, you can export it to STEP which can then be imported in SolidWorks.

FreeCAD can also convert STL files to solids. They will still have polygonal facets but at least will be editable.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/22/2013 12:20AM by NormandC.
June 22, 2013 12:38AM
Thanks Normand
I will give that a try
June 22, 2013 01:34AM
Got it to work perfectly and with minimal effort.
>Export as CSG from OpenSCAD
>open CSG in FreeCAD
>Save as STEP File
>Open STEP in Solidworks and save as Solidworks Part.