Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

HIPS soluble support

Posted by lister6520 
HIPS soluble support
August 25, 2013 01:10PM
Hi, just a short introduction as I'm new here. I'm also new to 3D printing, having become interested a few months ago and got myself a Flashforge Creator in April this year. I'm not sure if it is well known, but it is essentially a Chinese clone of the Makerbot Dual with a few improvements (or perhaps just differences). I had originally meant to build a 3d printer myself and was shopping on eBay for thecomponents but then I came across this printer with a very attractive price shipping from within Europe so I took the shortcut.

Right from the beginning I started to see the need for soluble supports as many of the things I wanted to make could not get a decent finish on the supported side - the filaments were not packed and fused properly together and the removed supports always left an untidy surface anyway.

I see PVA being mentioned quite often as support but I have not managed to use it succesfully, the main issue being that I cannot get it to stick to the main material, be it ABS or PLA. Sometimes the adhesion is so poor as to be non existent and the filament comes of even as it is being laid down. I have however seen very little mention of such problems so I wonder if it is a problem with my printer or something I am doing wrong.

In any case I gave up after not too long and then discovered HIPS (High Impact Polystyrene) which happens to be cheaper and has turned out to work rather well. ABS laid down on HIPS sticks very well (just as well as it sticks to itself I would say). The inverse is not quite as good but still more or less acceptable and can usually be worked around. The downside of HIPS is the solvent needed. Rather than water it needs a solvent which I cannot find locally so I have to get by mail which is quite costly (d-limonene or di-pentene). Still cheaper than the PLA/water combination though.