Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

(Noob) Which hot end to buy ??

Posted by Jerms.a320 
(Noob) Which hot end to buy ??
September 07, 2013 10:05AM
Hi ,

I'm really new to reprap and 3d printing in general, but very keen to learn. I would like to construct a mendel90 later in the year and I am currently looking at sources for parts. I am a bit stuck on hot ends, I'm not sure weather to make my own ( using that nickel chromium wire ) or to buy one , am I right in assuming that this is the most critical piece ?

Also is there much difference in extruders , I think the general view is to go with a wade extruder ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

thank you so much

Jeremy

(Also I'd like to keep my costs as low as possible I am a student)
Re: (Noob) Which hot end to buy ??
September 07, 2013 10:08AM
E3D hotend seems to be the way to go right now
September 07, 2013 10:12AM
Also had a look at the Bowden extruder on the wiki , it sound pretty good, would there be any advantages with this on a mendel90 and is the hysteresis a major problem ?
September 07, 2013 10:14AM
Actually there seem to be some threads discussing issues associated E3D hit ends. If I were to buy a hot end right now, I'd opt for a j-head. I owe two and have had zero problems with them.
September 07, 2013 10:48AM
492183 the E3D looks like a bit of a bulkier version of the pico I saw on YouTube before ( I hasn't come out yet though )

Jbernadis , with the j-head I has big resister in the end to heat it up but then you just attach your thermistor to the side . I was reading somewhere before , may have been on the web or in the forum cant find it in history , that the main problem is the heat transfer between the hot end and cold end , what's your experience with heat transfer ? What's the hot end with two resistors ( symmetrical ) - is that any better ?

where about did you guys get your hot ends , I'm in Australia

thanks so much for the quick replies - wasn't expecting that