Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Precision of end-stops?

Posted by Robin2 
Precision of end-stops?
September 11, 2013 03:18PM
I note that the normal Reprap machines have end-stops to detect the extreme positions of the carriages.

Am I correct in thinking that before starting a printing session the carriages are moved to the "zero" end-stops so that the firmware has a starting point for its position calculations?

I also note that the end-stops frequently use standard micro-switches. I have no experience of using micro-switches for that purpose and I wonder what degree of precision they give? For example will they routinely identify the position of the carriage to within a single motor step? If not, what level of precision do they give, and what level of precision is needed?

Thanks

...R
Re: Precision of end-stops?
September 11, 2013 03:38PM
I can't answer the precision they give, but I can answer the precision required. The endstops are generally only used at the start of a print, so that the printer knows where the zero point is. As long as the stepper motors don't skip steps, the position will always be known from then on.

For X and Y, precision endstops are not needed. As long as you are "close" (within a few mm), that's good enough. The only reason to have better precision there is if a large print that takes up most of the printable area is desired, so that the print is kept within the printable area.

For Z, much higher precision is needed. If you aren't printing lower than 0.2mm layer heights, then 0.05mm precision from the Z endstop is good enough. For printing with lower initial layer height, better precision would be required.

Help improve the RepRap wiki!
Just click "Edit" in the top-right corner of the page and start typing.
Anyone can edit the wiki!
September 11, 2013 05:29PM
I've struggled with my Z end stop for a while, and then finally have given up...