Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First printer build....Delta, Mendel, or something else

Posted by 0110-m-p 
First printer build....Delta, Mendel, or something else
October 10, 2013 12:23PM
So I am starting to plan my first printer build, but keep going back and forth between two designs...the Delta (probably 3DR) and the Mendel (probably Mendelmax 1.5+).

Right now the plan is to source all the parts and do any cutting/drilling of extrusions, rod, etc myself. I am a mechanical engineer with extensive experience in ground up design, metal fabrication, electrical wiring/soldering, computer building, computer case modding, etc etc. The software side is by far my weakest point, but I'm not completely foreign to that either.

My main question is which is the better printer outright and which can be sourced for less money (just in a general sense before I start sourcing all the components)? I am more interesting in accuracy and consistency than I am speed (though I don't want it to be slow as a dog).

Also, if there is something else that would be in comparable price range for the components that would be better (or as good but cheaper) that would be good info as well.

Thanks.
Re: First printer build....Delta, Mendel, or something else
October 10, 2013 12:33PM
My first was a Huxley from RepRapPro as a kit.

I've now learnt how it all works, and now I'm just deciding which to print as my second printer !

I can recommend kit first, self source second, I was worried about building something that just didn't work, and not having the experience to know why. I skipped that step, now when I print my 3DR, it'll be easy

cheers,

Dave
October 10, 2013 12:59PM
It depends if you want to print or build.
You should get a kit, you can build it up quickly and along the way
learn the ins / outs of 3D printing machine and realize improvements / fixes.

Then get to the real frustration 3D printing
Extruder hassles, 100s of parameters to set,