Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hotbed stopped working

Posted by barreto 
Hotbed stopped working
October 16, 2013 06:21PM
I have a prusa mendel with a ramps 1.4 (?) board running marlin. I picked it up on craigslist from a kid who couldn't get it calibrated well enough to run it. I did the research and got it calibrated enough to print for a few months and then it sat for about a month not being used. I turned it on the other day and the hotbed will not heat up. I though maybe the bed was bad and I had a spare so I hooked up a new bed to it and that didn't fix it either. I get no voltage from the board when I set the bed to heat. Where should I go from here? I'm very new to all of this but I've learned very quickly up to this point. I don't know enough about the pcb to know what might be broken.
Re: Hotbed stopped working
October 16, 2013 07:38PM
do you have a voltage tester? test the solder contacts. if anything else try to reflow solder to the contacts. if it still does not work, it is likely the board is damaged. they can be found on ebay. you could try to repair it, but it would likely fail again.

on another note are you sure the supply is working that it is used on, and has enough current. just thought to ask because the supply used needs at least 10-12amps to work.
October 16, 2013 08:17PM
I'm using a desktop tower power supply, it has plenty of amperage to power them. I pulled my board off and it looks like it's shot. I'm not sure if the damage was caused by something I did or the previous owner. I have a new Ramps 1.4 on the way.

October 16, 2013 08:22PM
Did you have heat sinks on the FETs (transostors) that control the heated bed. I noticed that the FET that controls the heated bed on my RAMPS 1.4 was getting so hot I couldnt touch it. Though it looks like your's got hot enough to melt solder.