Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Need Help Understanding Control Board

Posted by Smiddleton 
Need Help Understanding Control Board
November 02, 2013 05:21PM
Hey Guys,
I am new to the 3D printer arena. Please be patient with me if I ask stupid questions. I have researched the Sanguinololu control board. I was about to purchase it but found a company that was willing to donate parts to my 3d printer project. The problem is, I can't figure out what would be the equivalent of a sanguinololu. Is there a microcontroller kit out there that repetier host (other printer software) could be loaded onto other than a sanguinololu? Thanks in advance for the help. I really appreciate these forums and everyone in them that make them possible!
Sincerely,
S.Man
Re: Need Help Understanding Control Board
November 02, 2013 06:00PM
Doing a search on google or in the RepRap site can show you a lot???
search "3D printer control board"

Sanguinololu is a Sanguino (arduino) work alike with Polulu drivers

[reprap.org]

A RAMPS 1.4 on a adruino Mega it also uses Polulu drivers

RepRap Arduino Mega Pololu Shield (RAMPS)
[reprap.org]

Azteeg X3 3DP Reprap Controller w/ ATMEGA2560
[www.panucatt.com]

RUMBA (Reprap Universal Mega Board with Allegro driver)

RAMBO controller

Basically need a 3 axis controller board with some smarts to host Sprinter or Marlin firmware

confused smiley
November 02, 2013 07:01PM
Thanks for the reply, would this STM32 Discovery board work? [www.st.com]
Or the Nutiny board? [www.nuvoton.com]
I am pretty sure these are both 32 bit and can drive up to 4 stepper motors.
Sorry, I don't understand the terminology, I am a materials engineer, great for hardware, but not so much electronics, not that I can't learn. It's pretty cool stuff! Thanks again for the help.
S.Man
November 02, 2013 07:48PM
The boards you mentioned could be programmed to work, but good luck doing that! spinning smiley sticking its tongue out