Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Is it worth printing legos ?

Posted by unity100 
Is it worth printing legos ?
November 17, 2013 08:18AM
Hello people

I'm new to reprap org and 3d printing, but have been researching for a while. I am going to get started with 3d printing, and the first thing on my mind is printing some legos.

But im wondering :

Is it worth printing legos quality-wise and cost-wise ?

It may be fun to experiment, but if the cost of materials and power used while printing a lego set comes more than outright buying the kit itself, then it would not justify doing it. Especially when the quality is low.

I have seen around good lego bricks which were printed, but most seems to have a surface finish that is not smooth and perfect. The ones printed with 0.1 mm layer thickness are quite good and work very well, but their surface finish is not as perfect as legos.

So i thought i'd come and ask advice on this matter.

Thanks for your responses.
Re: Is it worth printing legos ?
November 17, 2013 11:53AM
To get that great feel of Legos, everything has to be just right. The connections between blocks requires very tight tolerances. I've even noticed that MegaBlocks don't snap together as well as real Legos. If there's a special custom piece you want, sure, try to print it. If you're looking for a whole bunch of blocks to build a castle or something, I think you're better off just buying them and saving yourself the work of having to "clean up" flaws on printed blocks.
Anonymous User
November 17, 2013 12:06PM
unity100
Is it worth printing legos quality-wise and cost-wise ?

No. If you need cheap parts you should get into mass production. 3d printing is more for unique parts, prototypes or small series <500 parts. Of course you can print small parts, but you will need a well built and calibrated printer, a lot of time and you need to know your printer.