Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Wind Turbine Blades from a 3D Printer

Posted by willdmo 
Wind Turbine Blades from a 3D Printer
November 25, 2013 01:25PM
Hi out there,
I am a student and we have a project going on. Our aim is it to print blades for a wind turbine with 2m in diameter and a power of about 200W.
The design starts from scratch and is aimed to hobbyists and people which like to be independent in terms of electrical power supplies.
We have access to a sintering-mashine, but not much people have. In our university (university of Stuttgart, Germany) we have no access to the more "simple" 3d printers.

I look now for volunteers which would print parts for one rotorblade for a second version.
to bring the parts to the right form I need to know the printing dimensions.

It would be good if there is someone near stuttgart, which would it make easier to pick up the parts.

If it is possible, We`d like to print in stronger material than PLA, like ABS ore others.

We should find rather strong to each other, because we would like to test the stability of the Blades in the beginning of december.

We need your help, maybe the project can help later many more people.

Greets

Willdmo
Re: Wind Turbine Blades from a 3D Printer
November 25, 2013 01:39PM
There aren't many 3D printers out that have a 1m build volume.
A spinning blade is a safety problem that may need special manufacturing?
I don't think you would want to make blade in pieces?

Perhaps a bunch of sections on a steel rod

Perhaps a graphite-epoxy lay up may be better?

Do you have drawings? Requirements? Plans?

You must think differently to build a blade that is easy to produce and does the job?

Have you thought about a vertical wind turbine?

Good luck testing blades in December? Are there blade vending machines in Germany?

confused smiley
November 25, 2013 02:05PM
there is a company close to where i live who makes blades for windturbines, and they are all epoxy type things,