Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

advice

Posted by mcwoods 
advice
September 11, 2009 02:13PM
Hey everyone,
I am new to this forum, so I will start with a little background. I am a recent graduate of Brown University in Providence, RI. I studied manufacturing and design in college, and am currently the founder of a RI based startup with a couple classmates who graduated with me. As the lead engineer for my company, I have been looking for ways to take our prototyping to the next level, and 3D printing has been something I have pushed for to the company for some time now. I also do freelance CAD work using Solidworks, so virtual modeling is something I am very familiar with. During my search for more affordable 3D printing I came across this group, and it seems very interesting to me, both as the lead engineer of a (currently) low budget startup and someone who is constantly tinkering with gadgets. Unfortunately, neither the company (since we are pre-seed funding) nor myself (pre-salary) can't afford to get involved in the project through buying a kit, so I was wondering if there was any other way that I might get involved while I save up my money.
Mike
Re: advice
September 11, 2009 03:03PM
The quickest way to start contributing is to write documentation. For example skeinforge needs more documentation and you can help develop it on the wiki at:
[www.bitsfrombytes.com]

Once you know the project better, you can try designing stuff and posting it on thingiverse:
[www.thingiverse.com]

Once you contribute for a while, you'll get to know people and if you contribute a lot, eventually someone will offer to print parts for you. With those parts and a few hundred dollars to buy an electronics package and the metal parts, you could then make your own.

Cheers,
Enrique
Re: advice
September 12, 2009 05:35AM