Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Complete Beginner Questions

Posted by amiller112 
Complete Beginner Questions
September 21, 2009 08:35PM
Hi, I have just heard of the RepRap and I'm interested in buying one of the kits, either the one from Bitsfrombytes or the Cupcake one.
I have a few, probably very simple questions that might help me, Thanks in advance:

Are both machines compatible with the same codes?

I'm tending towards the more expensive one from BitsFromBytes, looks more professional and has a larger working area, what is the easiest to build and to operate?

I have downloaded the free version of TrueSpace and it seems to run fine, had a look at a few gears/ other objects in .STL format and it seems very powerful. Now this question may be very dumb for you seasoned RepRappers, but how can you tell how large your 3D design will be in the real world before printing? Is there a way of viewing the scale in mm or inches?(Unfamiliar with this tbh)

For a 5lb reel of ABS what sort of volume of plastic is that, for instance if it were all printed out as a 3d block what volume would it be?

What thickness of ABS is required, or are they all standard thickness?

Sorry for the masses of questions, just trying to get a good idea of how best to start out designing for it.
Any other tips/ suggestions are more than welcome, thanks.
Re: Complete Beginner Questions
September 21, 2009 09:05PM
From a data sheet off the web, I get a density of 0.0376 lb/inĀ³ or 0.6016 oz per cubic inches, which by my calculations works out to about 133 cubic inches per five pound roll, or one large cube just over five inches per side.
September 21, 2009 10:08PM
Both the RepRap and the Cupcake CNC use the same electronics. Every CNC machine that I know of runs on gcode. This is the actual code that tells the motors how far to move, along with other information.