Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Analyze my print

Posted by Antslake 
Analyze my print
December 09, 2013 11:07PM
Well after a month of building my makerfarm i3, I am getting really good results on most of my prints. Starting to try the harder prints. Previously I could not even print out this rose. I had a few problems that I have slowly been correcting. It's tough in the beginning when you don't know what you are doing and there are multiple things wrong, makes it tougher to diagnose. I know there are some good tuning guides, and I have printed several calibration objects, but still being a newbie, I don't know always know which direction to go. So take a look and give me some advice. I am getting those blobs, and some hairs during bridging.

I was printing with clear ABS. 35mm print speed, but I dialed it back to 70%. 235 temp.

Re: Analyze my print
December 10, 2013 03:14AM
That's a lovely looking print!

I got blobs on my prints until I dropped my nozzle temperature from 230 to 215 - they don't happen as often now, maybe two or three on a large print smiling smiley
December 10, 2013 05:11AM
I was getting bonding issues before at those temps. Most of the time I was printing abs at 245. How is the bonding between layers for you? At what speed?
December 10, 2013 10:56AM
Antslake
I was getting bonding issues before at those temps. Most of the time I was printing abs at 245. How is the bonding between layers for you? At what speed?

bonding is really good for me - I recently printed out a single wall vase and am now using is as a pencil pot for marker pens, which proves it's nice and strong.

I tend to print slowly.. i'm not hugely experienced so haven't gone too fast, i've only had my printer actually printing stuff for about a month.