Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why does it seem few care about print strength and how to compare it?

Posted by strantor 
Why does it seem few care about print strength and how to compare it?
January 27, 2014 12:47AM
Hello RepRap forum, this is my first post. I'm relatively new to 3D printing. I got a 3D printer for one reason: to build a prosthetic hand for my father. For this, I need strong (in all 3 axes), durable prints. You could say that getting super strong prints is all I care about, and I'm feeling almost all alone in that.

Since entering the world of 3D printing, I find an overwhelming amount of information on every topic regarding 3D printing, except for how to get the strongest, most durable prints possible. It seems 95% of information regarding selecting a material, only covers scant details about ABS Vs. PLA, when there are far more material choices out there (could be they just arrived on scene around the same time I did).

This forum, having 97 subforums, doesn't even have a subforum for materials (that I could see; maybe I'm looking for the wrong buzz-words). No dedicated place to talk about Nylon Vs. PET Vs. acetone-dipped ABS Vs. fill-in-the-blank, or post-processing steps to increase parts strength. I mention this, not to degrade this fine forum, but to illustrate my point: Nobody seems to care, even enough to account for a meager 1% of subforum content.

Why?

When I was printing out fingers for my prosthetic hand and breaking them, I was thinking to myself "surely there is a standardized parts strength test I can perform, and compare my numbers other people's numbers, to get an idea if I'm doing it right; see if this is the best I can get out of a 3D printer or if other people are getting significantly better results than I am."