Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cupcake CNC update

Posted by AngelOfGrief 
Cupcake CNC update
March 09, 2014 06:35AM
Hello to everyone!

I own a pretty old Cupcake CNC printer from Makerbot (one of the first ones actually):

with a Makergear stepper-driven extruder (Stepper Plastruder it was called), this one:

Because Cupcake original design had a DC motor extruder MK3 I had to modify extruder board firmware to control the stepper motor (I am a programmer). It had a pair of nice H-bridges that worked fine to run the stepper.

Now, that I have an old basically wooden 3D printer with ball screw driven Z stage (which actually stinks), I decided to rebuild it into something working good. I will keep the stepper motors and the Makergear extruder, the rest needs rebuilding.

1. For the XYZ part I am looking at Makergear M2 design. Essentially, this:

It seems quite easy to follow. Linear guides for X and Y stages, linear bearings for the Z stage etc etc, I can get all that off Aliexpress. Metal frame -- quite easy to cut either from steel or aluminum. What do you people say? Is the M2 mechanics a decent layout for a 3D printer? I would like it to be steady, not the wooden cheesy stuff I have in my Cupcake. By any chance, does anyone know the diameter of vertical metal rods that the Z-stage is sliding on in M2?

2. Electronics. My Cupcake CNC has a board labeled "Reprap motherboard 1.2" with an SD card reader. This is probably one of the oldest ones. Also I have a separate board for the extruder/hotend and also 3 boards for every stepper motor. Someone on IRC told me it's good to print "volumetric" these days which my board does not support. It would be very nice to have a single board for everything, to plug in all the steppers and extruder hotend, also endstops support would be nice. I would like to upgrade to the latest electronics. What would you suggest I upgrade to?