Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

mendel mechanical parts measuring?

Posted by alroirm 
mendel mechanical parts measuring?
January 20, 2010 02:06AM
Hi,

I'm a completely newbie to RepRap, so chances are that my question is actually stupid and maybe a bit OT but... I want to get mendel mechanical parts printed so i need to know the volume of each part: what software does one use to calculate the volume?

I've tried a software called admesh (which seems unmaintained) that returns the volume of a stl file, between other functionallities. The problem is that it just prints out the number without units, so i don't know if that's cm3, in3, mm3 or what...

Do anyone know?

Cheers.
Re: mendel mechanical parts measuring?
January 20, 2010 02:10AM
skeinforge's statistics module prints out extrudate used in cc, probably close enough with infill set to 100%
January 20, 2010 02:41AM
I'm a completely newbie to RepRap, so chances are that my question is actually stupid and maybe a bit OT but...

Your question isn't stupid. This is critical information that's not on the wiki, but should be. Or if it is on the wiki, it's buried.

NOTE: Will someone add this to the wiki?

I want to get mendel mechanical parts printed so i need to know the volume of each part: what software does one use to calculate the volume?

This is a naive question. Mendels are crazy expensive to print commercially. ~1000USD.
Buy a used millstrap, at that price.
[objects.reprap.org]

Then make mendel parts and molds for parts, ("share and enjoy"), and help bring the cost down.
January 20, 2010 08:53AM
From the admesh 0.95 ReadMe file it looks like the "volume" is in the same units as the "size" values. If the STL is in CM then the volume would be CC. I don't know if STL files have an implicit or explicit scale. If the scale is implicit I would expect the Mendel parts to be in mm.

================= Results produced by ADMesh version 0.95 =================
Input file : sphere.stl