Where do slicer default settings come from?
May 01, 2014 02:51AM
How do the developers of slicer software get there default settings? Are they just found via experimentation or are they based on some theoretical relationship between hot-end temperature, feed rate, and head speed? (or are they just tribal knowledge?)

Basically I'm interested in learning the physics of what's going on with FDM printing in depth (I'm a mechanical engineer so feel free to be technical). So far everything I've found has been very qualitative but not very quantitative (which is understandable given how complex FDM is when you think about it). I figure this might give me a lead.

Thanks!
Re: Where do slicer default settings come from?
May 01, 2014 03:32AM
I think most of it would be from experience playing with them (trial and error) of course things like temps can be from specs of the plastics used and a little testing to find the optimal temps. If you use a 3D printer for a few months guessing at the best for the job at hand becomes kind of second nature.
May 01, 2014 04:57AM
Allesandro Ranelucci is the author of Slic3r and I believe he has several machines in his lab for testing every conceivable situation.

May 01, 2014 02:48PM
A lot of the process depends on the fluid properties of the heated plastic of relatively uncontrolled composition, which, taken with the measurement of temperature in the melting chamber of a hotend, and its calibration, leads to a pretty uncontrolled process. The users need experimentation to tune them for their machine's calibration, their source plastic, and the application.
May 01, 2014 04:20PM