Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

The future

Posted by maitri982 
The future
February 05, 2010 12:28PM
I am fairly new to reprap. I have read all the recent blogs, read a lot of posts on this board, looked at makerBot videos, visited thingiverse, etc. It seems after taking all this in that RepRap and its derivatives still haev some way to go to being truly useful in any practical way.

Setting aside the issue of just building one, which is non-trivial, there are key problems. From a pure economic standpoint, the machine is no practical. By this I mean that in its current form, I cannot produce enough useful goods such that the economic benefit of the machine exceeds its cost. The only exception seems that I could produce parts for other Mendels, etc. and sell them to recoup my investment. But I am more interested in the standard consumer who is wanting to manufacture everyday goods for their own use instead of becoming a retailer of goods.

So what needs to change for the cost\benefit to change? I list below my current perceptions of the RepRap's weaknesses:

1) The resolution is poor. Most pictures of parts show ripples and uneven surfaces. Corners are not well formed. Commercial printers have much better resolution...and are even capable of producing parts that can be used in mechanical devices right out of the machine instead of just being used as non-working prototypes. RepRap needs a major improvement in this area. I have not seen any resolution to this being proposed yet.

2) The build area is too small. Presumably reprap can be scaled to any arbitrary x\y\z configuration, but to date this has been an issue. Printing time takes too long for large builds, and it appears that larger parts even on todays machines suffer from warping. A practial printer should be able to print chair size objects...even if the chair needs assembled. So we should be talking in terms of square feet instead of square inches of volume potential.