Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

extruder nozzle design - why they are bad

Posted by martinfromoz 
extruder nozzle design - why they are bad
May 15, 2014 06:25PM
Hi,
I'm new to 3d printing. I'm in the process of researching my first printer, how they work, the capabilities and limitations of 3d printers. I do, however have 12 years of manufacturing experience with plastic extrusion and injection moulding. Maybe this has given me and insight or maybe this has been discussed before?

The main problem as I see it with 3d priting is the visible ridges of each layer. They mar what would otherwise be a nice print, or create lots of extra work in finishing up the print properly.

The circular shape of the extruder nozzle is responsible for the ridges. It lays down a squashed oval cross section track which leaves a visible ridge.

Has anyone tried a square or rectangulare nozzle? Instead of a squashed oval cross section, the track would be a squashed rectangular cross section. Ridges would be less prominent.

I realise this would work if the nozzle is moving along the axis of the square nozzle and create problems in any other direction - if the nozzle was going diagnally, the cross section would be a squashed diamond. The ridges would be even more prominent than normal.

A solution would be a rotating nozzle that aligns along the path of the extruder. Obviously, engineering this and programming the software for this is well beyond my capability.

Has this solution been thought of before? Is it worth a try?

I can provide pictures of my ideas if requred.

Martin
Re: extruder nozzle design - why they are bad
May 15, 2014 06:44PM