Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Program Choices

Posted by ecleary 
Program Choices
May 18, 2014 11:46AM
I'm starting to get into 3d printing, just ordered the pursa i3 kit from 3dprinterczar.com, and whilst im waiting on that to arrive I want to start getting familiar with a 3d modeling software. I was starting use sketchup but however after looking through the forum it would seem that there are some issue with it.
Any advice on where to start? Is auto CAD the be all and end all? Im a student so i can probably get that on the freesies.

Also Ive seen a lot of documentation about slicing software and think it might be prudent to ask for opinions on that also. What about firmware? Any advice?

I know this is all a bit vague and for that i do apologize but i would like to get some info before i invest time into learning on or the other programme, if theres any other forums with relevant info that you know of please send the link
Re: Program Choices
May 18, 2014 04:54PM
Personally, I use SolidWorks to model with. It's used in industry and is very easy to use once you know the basics, loads of tutorials on YouTube etc to learn how to use the software. It's also very easy to upload to slicing software by saving the model as an .stl straight away. Only problem is that it's not free, not even a trial. I'm studying product design at uni and so got the software for free, although I know it can be downloaded from places online...

Currently I'm using Slic3r to slice my models and convert to G-code as this is what is recommended for my printer (Ormerod). No problems so far, although it does seem to take a long while to slice fairly complex models :/ The settings are easy to change though which is a bonus if you want to increase printing speed etc. but I am thinking about using another piece of software.

Hope I helped thumbs up

Anyone else got any suggestions for slicing?
May 18, 2014 05:02PM