Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Print with 3 extruders and 1 nozzle

Posted by WannaFly 
Print with 3 extruders and 1 nozzle
May 20, 2014 05:51AM
Hi. I am new to the 3D printers. Now I want to build a 3D printer with 3 extruders and only 1 nozzle. Which are the best electronics and software choices? I am starting to read the repetier firmware, is it possible to use repetier firmware and repetier host for my machine? Should I use 1 arduino for controlling XYZ and another for 3 extruders?
Any idea or pointing is greatly appreciated.
Re: Print with 3 extruders and 1 nozzle
May 20, 2014 06:17AM
Hi

Get yourself onto the reprap irc channel and talk with RifRaf, he has been working on just this for a while.
I believe he is using a [reprap.org] , 6 stepper drivers.

also see [www.thingiverse.com]

From what I see the software support for 3 color is primitive so far..
May 20, 2014 07:00AM
WannaFly
Hi. I am new to the 3D printers. Now I want to build a 3D printer with 3 extruders and only 1 nozzle. Which are the best electronics and software choices? I am starting to read the repetier firmware, is it possible to use repetier firmware and repetier host for my machine? Should I use 1 arduino for controlling XYZ and another for 3 extruders?

Yes you can use Repetier firmware as well as Repetier host to print with 3 extruders on one nozzle.
You only need one board with enough drivers for the motors (6 at least)
The G-code for the printing is the problem at this stage - you need to manually change the G-code in a text editor or use the LCD controller to change the feed from one to the other whilst printing (That is if you selected the right options in Repetier firmware )

You only learn when you change your mind.
[www.deltaprinter.co.za]
May 20, 2014 01:57PM
Dust
Hi

Get yourself onto the reprap irc channel and talk with RifRaf, he has been working on just this for a while.
I believe he is using a [reprap.org] , 6 stepper drivers.

also see [www.thingiverse.com]