Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Cost and quality

Posted by Dave 
Dave
Cost and quality
July 15, 2007 04:05PM
hi,
i hope i'm in the right forum. please don't feal bothered about my questions, but this reprap thing is kind of confusing to me, because there are so many different informations.

firstly, what would a reprap cost? i could have all parts printed you would have to / could print. this price shourly is hard to calculate and i'm more thinking of the step-motors etc (everything you couldn't print). i've read something from 300 - 2500 USD... *confused*

secondly, i'm a product design student and would like to use the reprap for building models. how exact does the reprap print?

thanks, best regards.
dave
Re: Cost and quality
July 15, 2007 06:17PM
Ok, I'm sure that those more experienced and knowledgeable than I will jump in here and be able to answer your questions more fully, but here's a start, anyway.

As for the cost - the goal of the project is to be able to produce a RepRap for US $400 including the (material for the) printed parts. So to buy everything *except* the printed parts, I'd imagine you'd be looking at $300-$400, depending on how much of that cost is budgeted for printing costs.

The RepRap produces parts using FDM (Fused Deposition Modelling). More information on this technology can be found here [en.wikipedia.org]. I think the "standard" design has a resolution (extrusion size) of 0.5mm and an accuracy of ~0.1mm (don't quote me on those numbers). The material used to extrude is variable by application, for structural models the current favorite seems to be HDPE which is pretty cheap, common, and strong. Overall, this machine has been designed to capably fabricate functional objects in addition to non-functional prototypes.

Kyle
July 15, 2007 06:22PM
a good summary.