Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

YABL - Yet another build log for the Kossel Mini!

Posted by Dejay 
YABL - Yet another build log for the Kossel Mini!
May 29, 2014 03:31AM
YABL - Yet another kossel mini build log
There are plenty of build logs but this one is mine. The kossel mini seems to be a very well established and stable DIY printer to build, but maybe I'll provide another newbie with some info. Probably the only interesting parts to read here will be my considerations for the chosen design as a first 3D printer and my choice for electronics. As I'm a newbie concerning electronics and mechanics, I'm thankful for all the people who post information, ideas or answers in this forum!

How I came to reprap
This might be the least relevant or interesting part but anyway: I'm a 3D software developer and originally came to 3D printing from a desire to create my own custom "battery mods" for a personal vaporizer. Vaping (or ecigarettes) allowed me to stop smoking within a day partly because it also comes with a great community, nerdy technical aspects and fun new hobby. There are plenty of shiny new toys and after seeing some very nice designs for regulated battery devices I started to look into 3D printing via shapeways and i.materialize. Basically "mods" are battery holders with a chip that regulates voltage between 3 to 6 volts to supply your atomizer with energy. While shapeways can actually print in metal (even titanium), they are expensive, have long lead times and don't allow iterating over a design. After looking into DIY reprap printers, I fell in love, have lots of ideas to create cool gadgets and wanted one.

Considered designs