Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How a standing "T" or "E" or "Z" etc. would be printed?confused smiley

Posted by MIRZA 
How a standing "T" or "E" or "Z" etc. would be printed?confused smiley
June 04, 2014 09:01AM
I am new to 3D Printing. I have just ordered one PRUSA DIY Kit for me which have not yet arrived. I am just imagining how something which is hanging in air would be printed with a single extruder type printer? For example, imagine I want to print a standing letter "T" or "E" or "Z" etc. What about the hanging portion of any object which is not touching the base? Please see the .jpg file I have attached for clarification. Please don't mind if you find it a silly question.
Attachments:
open | download - 3D Printing T.jpg (15.9 KB)
Re: How a standing "T" or "E" or "Z" etc. would be printed?confused smiley
June 04, 2014 09:13AM
Most slicers can generate what is called support which means the printer will print a structure from the bed up to where the over hang is which can be removed after the print is done
June 04, 2014 09:13AM
In 3D printing we usually orientate for the best way to print, for letters that would be flat, unless it was attached to something and required printing standing up, I would always print them flat.
But to directly answer the question, use supports. Supports are printed, in the best case scenario, to be easily removeable support structures for overhang. What slicer are you going to be using?

Realizer- One who realizes dreams by making them a reality either by possibility or by completion. Also creating or renewing hopes of dreams.
"keep in mind, even the best printer can not print with the best filament if the user is the problem." -Ohmarinus
June 04, 2014 12:26PM