Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hacking a Makerbot Replicator 2?

Posted by Kyle R 
Hacking a Makerbot Replicator 2?
June 05, 2014 10:43PM
Hi All,

If I purchased a Makerbot Replicator 2 for academic purposes (I'm a Bioengineering PhD student), what would it take to 'hack' the system? The idea is, I need a quality positioning system with a build platform that moves in the Z direction, while most repraps I'm seeing have platforms which move in the Y direction. I need this because I will be depositing gels which will solidify within seconds after deposition--but constant Y movement would ruin the experiment. So, in the absence of a well-documented, high-performing reprap design with this constraint, I'm considering the MakerBot. I'd have to hack it to use my own deposition system. Could I re-wire it to a RAMPS 1.4 board/MEGA, and use a modified Marlin? What would I have to consider to do something like this? Is this heresy?

Thanks!
A2
Re: Hacking a Makerbot Replicator 2?
June 06, 2014 12:31AM
You would be better off purchasing a printer that has been well received, and hackable like the Ultimaker [www.ultimaker.com], CAD files are published, and the position precision X Y Z: 12.5 / 12.5 / 5 micron. All you have to do is tweak the open-source code. I bet there is a good chance if you spoke with UltiMaker about your open-source mission that they would help you out too.

3ders list of printers:
[www.3ders.org]

Reddit list of printers:
[www.reddit.com]

Makerbot is having a lot of quality issues, the arms are warping, the bearings are too loose, the hot end is failing, and their customer support is lacking.

Read this chat forum for lots of examples of current Makerbot issues:

MakerBot Operators (Postings of what is not working with Makerbot printers)
[groups.google.com]

Makerbot: Worst user experience and customer care ever
After paying a few grand you expect the company that sold to you to give a damn.
Not so with Makerbot.