Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

RepRap future and leader (the need for)

Posted by casainho 
RepRap future and leader (the need for)
February 21, 2010 09:39AM
Hello :-)

I am really new to RepRap, but I think that RepRap have a few problems right now that compromises his existence. RepRap need to continue evolution to survive over the times.

RepRap Mendel is stable, but there are a lot of other things to improve this 3D printer and even continue with the same philosophy.

I see the support material as the first thing to do next, to put our energies on! Mendel would be then near of commercial ones with support material.

Other things would be the Heated Bed - that is already developed but there is need to "RepRap core" approve it and ask to small companies like Makerbot to produce and sell it (or parts for it).

I am sure there are many more things where Mendel can be improved/evolution... but I guess that a RepRap leader/core should make a poll and ask users/hackers, or identify, what are the priorities. Then I would write that priorities on wiki, on Mendel pages and hope that hackers focus on that smiling smiley

Also RepRap leader/core should go looking for money, and put that money on that priorities! I think there is need money and consensus on RepRap!

As for consensus, look what NopHead wrote to a question made on this forum, about electronics:
Question: I wish we would get others in this discussion like Nophead, Forrest, Vic..

NopHead answer: I stopped discussing electronic architecture a long time ago. There is no consensus so I simply do my own thing and stopped wasting time trying to convince anybody else.

And as for money, we can look at Makerbot, which being selling their products they can have money to invest on development (but looks like they don't have free time).