Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Joining the crew, and getting started developing!

Posted by StaTrill 
Joining the crew, and getting started developing!
March 20, 2010 03:02AM
Hey! I am new to the crowd, but I very much back the reprap idea (and progress you guys have made) and want to see this move forward, so I decided to stop lurking and finally join the team *woot* :p

The reason I joined is more because I wanted to try to accelerate development as much as possible - I want to see this go places. Now, I dont have the most free time in the world, but I am quite mechanically inclined and have a knack for technical drawing. I have two things that I would like to contribute towards that I think would critically increase the appeal of this project:

Direct metal laser sintering
-and-
Milling heads

After looking extensively into metal laser sintering and pictures from the site, I saw many crucial issues that would warrant the need for more than a minor redesign (it would need to be in an air-tight temperature-controlled atmosphere of an inert gas, for example). While this is possible, we all walk before we crawl, and that seemed a bit daunting to tackle.

But, as far as the milling heads, I have drawn up plans for a rotary multiple tool head. In summary, it draws inspiration from the linear-to-rotary motion in the everyday retractable pen, and mounts multiple chucks (or some similar standard bit holder) around a circular toolhead. The idea behind the multiple chucks is to increase the amount of tools already provided to the bot and allow for more autonomous machining.

Now, I had planned to finish the drawings, transfer them into some kind of CAD program, post them up and judge the response (encouragement, discouragement, ect). If generally positive, I would send in for prototypes, refine (and repeat if necessary), then have them machined (and hopefully use the toolhead to machine more of itself?).