Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

I am Switching from ABS to PLA for tall items

Posted by tmorris9 
I am Switching from ABS to PLA for tall items
September 14, 2014 07:37PM
I have been printing with ABS for over 3 years now and I have a new (month old) TAZ 4 printer. I have not built an enclosure yet for it and I am having a heck of a time with tall thin items cracking and warping. Small items or low profile items are no issue but in the past 4 days I have tried to print a power supply hanger I designed that is 3mm wide and 60mm tall (5 hour print) and every attempt has failed. It either pulls off the glass and even pulled off a raft (the raft stayed stuck down fine) or last night I finally got it to stick all the way through the print only to find 3 cracks all the way through it that made it fall apart.

Now, I have only printed a few small items from PLA and I have a 1lb roll of it. So I did a test print of another small item last night with that just to see if it was going to work at all (it's a year old and in a bag but the bag has cuts in it so I was worried about moisture). Well the first layer looked a little sloppy but it actually printed fine. I use the Purple glue stick and it worked even better with PLA, in fact I had to use a little bit of force to remove the print but not overly so.

So, today I re sliced the power supply hanger for PLA and it's printing now (still over 4 hours to go) but seems fine so far. I got so enthused about PLA that I ordered 2 rolls last night (ruby red translucent, I love the way it looks, and gold).

I always want to make some translucent stuff for vases and lamp shades.

Just wanted to share.

Thanks!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/14/2014 07:39PM by tmorris9.
Re: I am Switching from ABS to PLA for tall items
September 14, 2014 11:22PM