Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Newbie here with some curiosity

Posted by Haswell 
Newbie here with some curiosity
September 29, 2014 09:43PM
Hi guys. I think I want a 3d printer. The ease of printing stuff on demand seems pretty cool. The only problem is I am a broke college kid. I was thinking that if I bought a printer I may be able to sell some printed things to recoup some of the cost. Do any of you have experience with this? Is there a big market for custom printed parts? This is really the only thing holding back. I don't plan to turn it into a business venture, just something to support my hobby. Thank you for your help!
Re: Newbie here with some curiosity
September 29, 2014 10:20PM
The printer is just a tool. You can earn a living with a welder if you are good at welding, know what you can make and sell, and have an audience that is willing to pay for the items you create. 3D printers are the same. Don't assume you can just click a button and make money. You need to know what people want and have the ability to make it.

I do this, I have a product (sorry not going to give it away here) that I make and sell. It paid for my first printer ($1,700) and is paying in part for my second printer. It's a part I designed myself as I felt there was a need. Mine is better designed than anything like it. I am still struggling to find the next item I want to build and sell. I thought about making things like GoPro tripod mounts (I designed a very good one) but people from China make one that is $1 so it's not worth competing. I would not make 3D printed parts (to make another printer) as there are already a lot of these being made and the price is low.

So, can you have the printer 'earn it's keep' so to speak, yes, if you are capable and have something to print and sell.
September 29, 2014 11:41PM
tmorris9