Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

BerryBot3D Loves the new E3D V6 hotend!!

Posted by BerryBot3D 
BerryBot3D Loves the new E3D V6 hotend!!
October 24, 2014 12:46AM
Hey Guys, I purchase a couple of V6 hotends from E3D to play with and try out. After running these little beauties on two of my printers I have to say great job to the Sanjay and the other folks at E3D for a job well done! Being a machinist I carefully looked at the surface finish of the parts and was very impressed, this is a very well machined hotend! With over 400 print hours on them printing every material available the V6 has worked flawlessly. As you probably guessed I could not just leave it alone and had to Berryify it just a little. The first mod was to wrap the heater block in a blanket. Insulating the heater block helps to make layers more consistent. McMaster Carr [www.mcmaster.com] I fold the 1” strip over on itself and wrap it around and fasten it with a nylon zip tie. The only other thing was to install two small thin strips of felt about 3/16 x 1” on the insides of the blue plastic fan shroud where it meets the aluminum barrel. This helped quiet down a small vibration from the fan that developed in both of them after running them for a while.

Thanks for a great product Guys!!

Werner
Attachments:
open | download - 2014-10-23 12.31.01 (Small).jpg (249.2 KB)
open | download - DSC_0003 (2)_800x531.JPG (342.3 KB)
open | download - DSC_0005 (2)_800x531.JPG (340.3 KB)
open | download - DSC_0007 (2) (Small).JPG (99.3 KB)
open | download - DSC_0014 (2) (Small).JPG (84.6 KB)
open | download - DSC_0027_800x531.JPG (387.1 KB)
open | download - 2014-09-29 18.26.49 (Small).jpg (238.7 KB)
Re: BerryBot3D Loves the new E3D V6 hotend!!
October 24, 2014 12:51AM
Nice mods to the V6. Glad to hear from you again Werner....its been a long time. What's new with you and the Berrybot 3D?
October 25, 2014 03:30PM