Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First (basic) attempt at a repstrap

Posted by greenarrow 
First (basic) attempt at a repstrap
August 06, 2007 08:06PM
This is my first attempt at a repstrap, the whole thing is built from lego using added on stepper motors.

Both the motors and driver are from an old printer (i'm not using reprap electronics) with the driver connected to the parallel port. This means the software has to control every coil on the system individually which is annoying but it works. The software is written in python with a C backend to take care of the actual coil movements (which sped things up a lot).

At the moment i'm not using the reprap software due to incompatible hardware. I'm not really intending to get this up to being able to print reprap parts, it's more just for a learning experience until reprap can re-produce. Once i've added the extruder motor (for a syringe) i'm going to experiment with making basic shapes using either glue or filler.

The accuracy of the machine is surprisingly good. I gave it a small job (about 10 movements) to do,repeated it about 5 times and set it to return to the centre. The x axis drifted about 1 mm and the y axis about 10mm. I only got it hooked up the computer today and am pretty sure i can get the y axis better.
Re: First (basic) attempt at a repstrap
September 01, 2007 04:58PM
Here's an update:

[www.flickr.com]

I've managed to do a five layer print of a letter 'I'. There is still a bit of distortion at the beginning of each line, i have found that extruding extra material st the start of every new line helps the material stick down better, but can result in the nozzle getting coated in excess material, my next idea is to suspend a piece of tissue outside of the print area so that the machine can clean it's nozzle between lines.